Election Season

Posted by Seth Duncan Friday, August 11, 2017 1:55:00 PM

Every two odd years, town citizens go to the polls to select council members. This year voters will be selecting individuals to fill the following seats: 

  • Council District 1 
  • Council District 3
  • Council District 5
  • Council District 7
  • Mayor

In addition to the above races, a special election will be held to fill the remaining term of District 2

Interested candidates must file with Lexington County Elections Commission (even if they live in the Saluda County portion of town) before noon on Friday, August 25, 2017

Petition forms and Statement of Intention of Candidacy are available at Town Hall, but must be submitted to Lexington County Elections Commission by noon on the closing date (above). These forms can be found online here

Candidates seeking to run for a district seat or mayor are required to obtain a minimum number of valid signatures. The exact number varies by district, but overall, each candidate for a seat needs to obtain 35 signatures for council districts, and 235 for mayor. Lexington County Election Commission will determine the validity of the signatures submitted. The Town of Batesburg-Leesville uses a petition filing process, therefore, no fees are assessed to run for Town offices. 

Candidates for municipal office must electronically file a Statement of Economic Interest (SEI) through the State Ethics Commission website.  Candidates may also be required to make Campaign Disclosure reports.  Visit the State Ethics Commission website for more information.

Good luck!